يستند ترشيح إمارة الشارقة إلى دورها التاريخي المتميز في الحفاظ على أمن التجارة العالمية في الخليج، وتهيئة كافة الظروف لتأمين حرية النقل والتنقل عبر الخليج العربي. تقع "الشارقة، في الجزء الشمالي الشرقي من شبه الجزيرة العربية، على الساحل الجنوبي من الخليج العربي، على امتداد أحد أقدم الطرق البحرية الدولية، ولموقعها الاستراتيجي أهمية بالغة في تأمين التواصل التاريخي الثقافي بين الشرق والغرب.

وتحتضن الإمارة أول موطن للإنسان في المنطقة (جبل فايا)،الذي يعود تاريخه إلى قبل 125000 سنة، في الفترة التي بدأ فيها الإنسان العاقل الانتقال من أفريقيا إلى القارة الآسيوية.

وفي نهايات القرن الـ 18 وأوائل القرن الـ 19، كان الوضع السياسي في المنطقة معقداً للغاية نظراً لوجود عدة قوى مسيطرة في المنطقة؛ فهناك السعودية وسلطنة عُمان، والفرس، وهناك الحكومات الأوروبية المختلفة، البرتغالية والفرنسية والبريطانية، على وجه التحديد، لذا نجد أن ملامح أبنية الإمارة ترتبط ارتباطاً وثيقاً بالوقائع والأفكار التي قادت لتشكل وتطور الإمارات المتصالحة.

قادت عناصر تميز الإمارة إلى سلسلة هامة من التطورات في القرنين 19 و20، أي في فترة الإمارات المتصالحة. كان لظهور القواسم منذ عام 1720، دورا كبيراً محركاً للمنطقة، أدى إلى تطورها، فقد حكموا شبه جزيرة مسندم،وامتد حكمهم للساحل الفارسي ومضيق هرمز، فغدا له دور كبير في تأمين التجارالدولية وتأمين الاتصال ما بين الشرق والغرب.

تعقد الوضع السياسي لحكام عُمان وتأزمت علاقاتهم مع القوات الفرنسية والبريطانية في الفترة بين نهاية القرن الـ 18 وبداية القرن الـ 19، ولأن القواسم كانوا في جانب المعارضة اتهموا بالقرصنة. وأدى ذلك إلى تعرض ممتلكاتهم إلى هجمات الأساطيل البريطانية - الهندية عام 1809، وعام 1819، وقد تم توقيع هدنة 1820 شاركت فيها مشيخات المنطقة، وذلك من أجل توطيد السلام والأمن البحري في الخليج، وشكلت تلك الهدنة نواة للإمارات المتصالحة.

خلال هذه الفترة، ضمن الوجود البريطاني توفَر محكمٍ للنزاعات، مما شجع الشيوخ المحليين على تجنب كافة أشكال الصراع، وكان لابد من ترسيخ الهدنة الأولى بمزيد من المعاهدات، وخاصة معاهدة السلام البحري الدائمة، التي وقعت عام 1853، ومنذ ذلك الحين، تم دمج الإمارات المتصالحة ككيان سياسي موحد، وبرزت المناطق التي يحكمها القواسم، وبرز دورها في التطورات الاقتصادية والتجارية، وتم إعادة بناء أسطول القواسم وزيادته، وإعادة إنشاء المدن التي دمرت في الشارقة، ورأس الخيمة ولنجة.

تمتعت الشارقة بمزيد من التنمية باندماجها مع الأراضي المحيطة، وقد ساعدها هذا الاندماج على توفير الموارد، ففي جميع هذه المناطق كان هناك نظم تقليدية للمواصلات والقوافل، محمية بالحصون وأبراج المراقبة.

بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية، فرض البريطانيون مجموعة من الرسوم، وقاموا بتشكيل كشافة ساحل عُمان، للمساهمة في الحفاظ على منجزات السلام على الأرض.

وقد تميز القرن الـ 20 بالانتقال إلى الحداثة على كافة الأصعدة، وقد تم إنشاء المطار المدني الدولي في الشارقة عام 1932، والتنقيب عن النفط، مما أدى إلى مزيد من التطوير وإلى تعزيز المكانة الدولية للمنطقة، وتم استحداث المرافق الصحية والاجتماعية الحديثة، مثل المدارس ونظم الاتصالات السلكية واللاسلكية.

وفي خمسينيات القرن الماضي، تم رسم حدود الإمارات المتصالحة وتحديد حدودها الإدارية. في الستينيات، دُعي مخططو المدن البريطانية للمساعدة في تخطيط وتنمية وتطوير مدينة الشارقة، وقد كان ذلك بداية لحقبة جديدة، أحيت الاهتمام بالتراث الثقافي والمحافظة عليه.

مكانة عالمية متميزة

إن ميزات الشارقة، بوابة الإمارات المتصالحة، ترتبط ارتباطاً مباشراً بالأحداث والوقائع التاريخية والأفكار التي أدت إلى تشكيل الإمارات المتصالحة، وتطويرها. شهدت الشارقة تغيرات هامة نتيجة لتأثير التنمية الحضرية والتكنولوجية، وقد حافظت على استمراريتها الحضارية الثقافية، وقادت عناصر تميز الإمارة إلى سلسلة هامة من التطورات في القرنين 19 و20، أي في فترة الإمارات المتصالحة، ويمكن إجمال عناصر تفوق الشارقة، فيما يلي:

  1. قلب الشارقة: تشكل المنطقة التاريخية في الشارقة قلب الشارقة، وعاصمة المنطقة التي يحكمها شيوخ القواسم منذ عام 1813، وتجسد هذه المنطقة التحول الرئيس بين الأنشطة البحرية والاقتصاد البري.
  2. مطار المحطة: ربط مطار المحطة، عام 1932، أراضي الشارقة مع أول المسارت الجوية العابرة للقارات، أي بين بريطانيا والهند.
  3. معسكر المرقاب: أصبح معسكر المرقاب، منذ عام 1967، مقر كشافة ساحل عُمان التي أنشئت عام 1951، من قبل السلطات البريطانية بالاتفاق مع حكومة الشارقة، لتحقيق السلامة والأمن في إقليم الشارقة.
  4. قرية الخان: ظلت قرية الخان شاهداً على أنشطة الصيد التقليدية الحيوية، حتى 1970، ولم تتأثر أعمالها إلى بعد ذلك نتيجة لعمليات التحديث.
  5. واحة الذيد: تُعد أهم مثال على منطقة زراعية محمية طبيعياً، إذ تحيط بها الجبال من جميع الجهات. ظلت الذيد تحت السيطرة السياسية والعسكرية الكاملة للشارقة، وتنبع أهميتها من أنها تقع على مفترق طرق، ولطالما أمها الناس من الإمارات الأخرى، أثناء تنقلهم، عدا أن معظمهم اهتم بامتلاك مزارع فيها.
  6. وادي الحلو: يُعد وادي الحلو منطقة زراعية محمية طبيعية وتحيط بها الجبال من جميع الجهات. ولا يمكن الوصول إليها إلا من خلال الوادي ) مجرى النهر)، على طول طريق القوافل، وهذا هو سبب وجود عدد من أبراج المراقبة عند مدخل الوادي لحماية القرية من المهاجمين.
  7. حصن فيلي وبرج المراقبة والقلعة: يقع الحصن والقلعة على طريق القوافل من الذيد إلى العين وواحة البريمي، وكان يُعد نقطة دفاعية هامة، للحفاظ على أمن القوافل، ويشرف الحصن على الطريق الممتد من الساحل الغربي إلى الساحل الشرقي، ويوفر حماية للممرات الجبلية الحجرية.
  8. حصن خورفكان:يوفر موقع حصن خورفكان الاستراتيجي حماية للميناء على جانب خليج عُمان في الأراضي التي يملكها القواسم، ويتميز بأهميته في السجلات التاريخية التي تسلط الضوء على تطور عمارة الحصن من القرن 14 وحتى القرن الـ 20.

المعيار (السادس): ارتبطت الشارقة، عاصمة حكام القواسم، ارتباطاً مباشراً بأحداث وأفكار القرنين 18 و 19 ، وأصبحت بوابة لتأسيس الإمارات المتصالحة في منطقة الخليج، وتطويرها، وغدت ذات أهمية عالمية استثنائية للكيان السياسي الجديد (الإمارات المتصالحة)، ولضمان السلام وأمن الطريق التجاري الخليجي، الذي يعد من أهم أنظمة الاتصال البحرية الدولية منذ العصور القديمة. وقدساهم إنشاء الإمارات المتصالحة بتهدئة الأوضاع في المنطقة، وساهم بشكل استثنائي في تطوير الشارقة وأراضيها، التي تبوأت موقع الريادة في المنطقة منذ القرن الـ 19. وفي أوائل القرن 20 . كانت الشارقة، مرة أخرى، أول من أدخل المؤسسات الحديثة المختلفة، مثل الصحة والتعليم، إضافة إلى قبولها لإنشاء مطار مدني في المنطقة كجزء من الخط الجوي بين أوروبا والهند، ونتيجة لذلك، غدت الشارقة بوابةَ ومركزاَ يجمع بين التجارة والنقل، في البر والبحر والجو، ضمن تنمية سلمية في المنطقة.

المعيار (الثاني): "احتضان التبادل للقيم الإنسانية،على مدى فترة من الزمن أو ضمن منطقة ثقافية من العالم، من خلال التطورات في العمارة أو التكنولوجيا، والفنون الأثرية، وتخطيط المدن أو تصميم المناظر الطبيعية" تمثل الشارقة، بوابة الإمارات المتصالحة، ثمار التعاون الدولي بهدف التفاعل السلمي والتقارب بين الثقافات المختلفة في منطقة الخليج. وتجسد الشارقة، كبوابة للإمارات المتصالحة،التأثيرات والقيم المتبادلة التي تؤدي للتنمية الحضرية والتكنولوجية الهامة، مع الحفاظ على الاستمرارية الحضارية الثقافية، وقد كان للإمارة دوراً كبيراَ في إدخال التطورات الحديثة في مجالات التكنولوجيا، وأنظمة الاتصالات، والتعليم، وفي افتتاح أول مطار في المنطقة، الذي يربط بين أوروبا والهند. في الوقت نفسه، وقد أسست الشارقة العديد من المؤسسات الثقافية والتعليمية لاستمرار وازدهار الثقافة العربية في العالم الحديث.

المعيار (الثالث): " تحمل شهادة استثنائية وفريدة من نوعها لحفاظها على التقاليد الثقافية ،كونها تمثل الحضارة التي في المنطقة أو التي اختفت." إن ترشيح إمارة الشارقة المتكرر، بوابة الإمارات المتصالحة، يجسد شهادة فريدة من نوعها، واستثنائية بكل المقاييس وذلك لما تحتضنه الإمارة من تقاليد ولما عايشته من تطورات حضارية ثقافية في القرن 18 وأوائل القرن 19، والتي أدت إلى تشكيل الإمارات المتصالحة، وقد واصلت الإمارة تقدمها في القرنين 19 و 20 ، لتقدم أهم الأمثلة على استمرار التقاليد وإدخال الحداثة في العالم. وتشتمل العناصر الأساسية لاستحقاق الشارقة، الاقتصاد التقليدي وتطوره، بدءًا من القرن التاسع عشر وحتى القرن العشرين. وتشتمل هذه العناصرعلى موانئ المنطقة المركزية في الشارقة و الخان، والتجارة البحرية وتجارة اللؤلؤ المحلي وصيد الأسماك. وميناء خورفكان الذي يربط إمارة الشارقة بخليج عُمان والمحيط الهندي.وعلاوة على ما توفره الموانئ من اتصال بالبحر، وما يوفره من صيد اللؤلؤ وصيد الأسماك، وحركة النقل البحري، التي تمتد إلى المنطقة الجبلية من خلال القوافل، فقد وفرت إمكانية الزراعة، خاصة زراعة أشجار النخيل، وتربية الماشية. ولطالما كانت الشارقة ملجأ للبدو والقبائل الرحل، وقد تمتعت الإمارة بنظام اقتصادي متكامل، حيث تدعم المناطق المختلفة على أراضيها بعضها البعض. ولأن المنطقة ما كانت لتخلو من الصراعات، حتى القرن الـ 20، سعى القواسم لحماية أراضيهم بنظام دفاعي من أبراج المراقبة والحصون، إضافة لأسوار مدينة الشارقة المحصنة. وقد اعتمدت مناطق البر على الاقتصاد التقليدي، وعلى الواحات، مثل الذيد و على مصادر المياه الأخرى، حيث يتم توفير الري لبساتين النخيل والمياه لقرى المناطق الجبلية، مثل وادي الحلو.

التكامل

تمتاز الشارقة، بوابة الإمارات المتصالحة، بعدة ميزات تتكامل من كل الجوانب لتسهم في تعزيز القيمة العالمية للإمارة. وتستند تلك الميزات في الأساس على الطابع التاريخي الأثري الذي تتمتع به المدينة، و يتجلى في الآثار والهياكل التاريخية، التي تُعد شواهد على التطورات التي حفل بها القرن 19 و النصف الأول من القرن الـ 20.


الأصالة

الخاصية الأساسية للطابع التاريخي- الأثري. الذي يصبغ الإمارة بصبغة حضارية ثقافية مميزة، وتضم الشارقة العديد من المناطق الأثرية، من ضمنها قلب الشارقة، وبقايا قرية الخان للصيد واللؤلؤ، الحصن القديم في خورفكان، وما تبقى من آثار قرى القرن الـ 19 في وادي الحلو، وبرج المراقبة وموقع حصن فيلي، والحصن في واحة الذيد.وقد تم تقييد إعادة الترميم والبناء بشكل صارم بحيث تحتفظ بأصالتها المادية والمعنوية.

إن ميزات ملف الشارقة، بوابة الإمارات المتصالحة، يرتبط ارتباطاً مباشراً بالأحداث والوقائع التاريخية والأفكار التي أدت إلى تشكيل الإمارات المتصالحة، وتطويرها ( المعيارالسادس). شهدت الشارقة تغيرات هامة نتيجة لتأثير التنمية الحضرية والتكنولوجية، وقد حافظت على استمراريتها الحضارية الثقافية، (المعيار الثاني)، وقادت عناصر تميز الإمارة إلى سلسلة هامة من التطورات في القرنين 19 و20، أي في فترة الإمارات المتصالحة، ويمكن إجمال عناصر تفوق الشارقة، فيما يلي:

"قلب الشارقة": تشكل المنطقة التاريخية في الشارقة قلب الشارقة، وعاصمة المنطقة التي يحكمها شيوخ القواسم منذ عام 1813، وتجسد هذه المنطقة التحول الرئيس بين الأنشطة البحرية والاقتصاد البري.هناك العديد من المباني التاريخية المصانة،وهناك جزء كبير من منطقة السوق التاريخية، ومساكن الحكام. وقلعة الحصن، الذي بني في الأصل في بداية القرن الـ 19، ولكنه هدم في عام 1969، وأعيد بناؤه عام 1996 باعتباره رمزاً للاهتمام بالإرث التاريخي للشارقة.

قرية الخان: ظلت قرية الخان شاهداً على أنشطة الصيد التقليدية الحيوية، حتى 1970، ولم تتأثر أعمالها إلا بعد ذلك نتيجة لعمليات التحديث.

"مطار المحطة": ربط مطار المحطة، عام 1932، أراضي الشارقة مع أول المسارت الجوية العابرة للقارات( بين بريطانيا والهند).

معسكر المرقاب: كان معسكر المرقاب،مقر كشافة ساحل عُمان التي أنشئت عام 1951، من قبل السلطات البريطانية بالاتفاق مع حكومة الشارقة، لتحقيق السلامة والأمن في إقليم الشارقة.

واحة الذيد: تُعد أهم مثال على منطقة زراعية محمية طبيعياً، إذ تحيط بها الجبال من جميع الجهات. ظلت الذيد تحت السيطرة السياسية والعسكرية الكاملة للشارقة، وتنبع أهميتها من أنها تقع على مفترق طرق، ولطالما أمها الناس من الإمارات الأخرى، أثناء تنقلهم، عدا أن معظمهم اهتم بامتلاك مزارع فيها.

حصن فيلي وبرج المراقبة والقلعة: يقع الحصن والقلعة على طريق القوافل من الذيد إلى العين وواحة البريمي، وكان يشكل نقطة دفاعية هامة ضمن نظام الدفاع الذي يؤمن القوافل، ويشرف الحصن على الطريق الممتد من الساحل الغربي إلى الساحل الشرقي، ويوفر حماية للممرات الجبلية الحجرية، وقد وفرت المراقبة من البرج لكافة المناطق متابعة سير القوافل، ومكنت من.

وادي الحلو: يُعد وادي الحلو منطقة زراعية محمية طبيعية وتحيط بها الجبال من جميع الجهات. ولا يمكن الوصول إليها إلا من خلال الوادي ) مجرى النهر)، على طول طريق القوافل، وهذا هو سبب وجود عدد من أبراج المراقبة عند مدخل الوادي لحماية القرية من المهاجمين، وتُعد المنطقة المحيطة بالوادي من المناطق الآمنة التي اتاحت للقانطين العمل في الزراعة وتصدير المنتجات إلى المناطق الساحلية.

حصن خورفكان: يوفر موقع حصن خورفكان الاستراتيجي حماية للميناء على جانب خليج عُمان في أراضي القواسم، ويتميز بأهميته في السجلات التاريخية التي تسلط الضوء على تطور عمارة الحصن من القرن 14 وحتى القرن الـ 20. و يمثل الحصن أنماط التحصينات، ويعرفنا بمراحل تطور الحصون التاريخية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، والهندسة المعمارية.

The nomination is based on Sharjah’s historical significance in establishing the conditions for safety in international trade and transport along the Gulf. Sharjah is situated in the north-eastern part of the Arabian Peninsula, on the southern coast of the Arabian Gulf, along one of the oldest international maritime routes. The region is particularly important for its east-west cultural historical connections.

The earliest human habitat in the region (Jebel Faya) dates from 125,000 years ago, at the time when Homo Sapiens started moving from Africa to the Eurasian continent. In the late 18th and early 19th centuries, the political situation in the region was complex, involving a variety of actors: the Saudi, the Omani, the Persians, as well as various European Governments, particularly the Portuguese, French and British. The principal qualities of the property are associated with events and ideas that led to the formation and development of the Trucial States.

The different components of the serial nomination bear testimony to the region’s developments in the 19th and 20th centuries, i.e. the Trucial State period. From the 1720s, the Qawasim family emerged as an important factor in the development of the region. They ruled over the Musandam peninsula, as well as over a part of the Persian coast, thus establishing a functional connection across the Strait of Hormuz, important for international trade connections between east and west.

Towards the end of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th, the political situation of the Oman rulers with the French and British forces became increasingly complex. The Qawasim, acting in opposition, were accused of piracy. This led to attacks by the British-Indian fleets on the Qawasim properties in 1809 and 1819. Consequently, a truce signed in 1820, joined by other Sheikhs of the region, established the basis for the consolidation of the maritime peace in the Gulf and formed the nucleus for the Trucial States. Through this period, the British presence in the Gulf guaranteed an arbitrator, which encouraged the local sheikhs to avoid conflicts. It was, however, necessary to complement the initial truce with further treaties, especially the Perpetual Treaty of Maritime Peace of 1853. At that time, the Trucial States were merged as a political entity, where the territory ruled by the Qawasim became the most prominent in its economic and commercial developments. Its fleets were rebuilt and increased, and the destroyed towns of Sharjah, Ras Al Khaimah and Lengeh were reconstructed.

Sharjah enjoyed greater development by integrating within the cultural territory that offered the necessary resources and sustenance. Throughout this territory, there were traditional systems of communication and caravan routes, provided with protection by forts and watchtowers. After the Second World War, the British also established a group of levies, the Oman Trucial Scouts, to contribute to maintaining peace on land.

The 20th century was marked by the introduction of modernity in its different forms, including an international civil airport in Sharjah in 1932 and the exploration of oil, which led to further development and strengthening of the international status of the region. In addition, modern health and social facilities, such as schools and telecommunication systems, were built. In the 1950s, the Trucial States were identified with administrative boundaries. In the 1960s, the British urban planners were invited to assist in planning the growing development of Sharjah city. This was the beginning of a new era, which has also revived interest in cultural heritage and its preservation.

Justification of Outstanding Universal Value

The principal qualities of Sharjah, the Gateway to Trucial States, are associated with events and ideas that led to the formation and development of the Trucial States. Sharjah has experienced an important interchange of influences resulting in a major urban and technological development, while at the same time maintaining its cultural continuity. Together the different elements of the serial nomination bear testimony to the developments in the 19th and 20th centuries, i.e. the Trucial State period. The serial nomination of Sharjah, the Gateway to the Trucial States consists of the following components:

  1. Heart of Sharjah is the central area of the historic town of Sharjah, the capital of the territory ruled by the Qawasim sheiks from 1813 onwards. It forms the principal transition between the maritime activities and land-bound economy.
  2. Al Mahatta airport was established in 1932, thus linking the territory of Sharjah with one of the first intercontinental air routes, i.e. between Britain and India.
  3. Al Mirqab military camp was, from 1967, the headquarters of the Oman Trucial Scouts that had been established, in 1951, by the British authorities in agreement with the Sharjah government to survey safety and security in the territory of Sharjah.
  4. Al Khan village provides exceptional testimony to a traditional fishing village, which survived until the 1970s, but which has since fallen in ruins as a result of the modernisation processes.
  5. Al Dhaid oasis is the most important example of a naturally protected agricultural area surrounded by mountains on all sides. Al Dhaid was under full political and military control of Sharjah, a crossroads of routes, but it was also a town where people from other emirates could pass by or own farms there.
  6. Wadi al-Helu is a naturally protected agricultural area surrounded by mountains on all sides. It can only be reached through a riverbed or valley, along the caravan route, which is why a number of watchtowers are located at the entrance of the valley to protect the village from raiders.
  7. Fili watch tower and fort on the caravan route from Al Dhaid to Al Ain and Buraimi Oasis is significant for its role as a defensive point, maintaining the security of the caravans. It is also on the route from West to the East coast, protecting the links to the stone mountain tracks.
  8. Khorfakkan fort site protected the harbour on the Oman Gulf side of the Qawasim territory. It is significant for the complex historical records that shed light on the evolution of fort architecture from the 14th till the 20th century.

Criterion (vi): Sharjah, the capital of the ruling family of Qawasim, was directly associated with the events and ideas in the 18th and 19th centuries, becoming a Gateway to the establishment and development of the Trucial States in the Gulf region. The outstanding universal significance of this new political system, the Trucial States, is in guaranteeing peace and safety of the Gulf trade route, one of the most important international maritime systems of communication since antiquity. The establishment of the Trucial States and consequent pacification of the region also contributed to the exceptional development of Sharjah and its territory, which was the leader in this region in the 19th century. Again, in the early 20th century, Sharjah was the first to introduce various modern institutions, such as health and education, as well as accepting to establish the civil airport in this region as part of the Europe-India air route. Consequently, Sharjah became the Gateway and a hub in combining trade and transport on land, sea and air, within a peaceful development of the region.

Criterion (ii): exhibit an important interchange of human values, over a span of time or within a cultural area of the world, on developments in architecture or technology, monumental arts, town-planning or landscape design; Sharjah, the Gateway to the Trucial States represents the result of international cooperation aiming at a peaceful and harmonious interaction between different cultures and protagonists in the Gulf Region. As the leading gateway to the Trucial States, Sharjah exhibits an important interchange of influences and values resulting in a major urban and technological development, while at the same time maintaining its cultural continuity. It was instrumental for first introducing into the region different aspects of modernity in technology, systems of communication and education, including the first airport in the region for traffic between Europe and India. At the same time, Sharjah developed several cultural and educational institutions for the continuation and flourishing of Arab culture in the modern world.

Criterion (iii): bear a unique or at least exceptional testimony to a cultural tradition or to a civilization which is living or which has disappeared;
The serial nomination of Sharjah, the Gateway to the Trucial States bears unique and also exceptional testimony to the cultural traditions and developments that from the 18th and early 19th centuries led to the formation of the Trucial States, and their further development in the 19th and 20th centuries as one of the foremost examples of continuing of traditions and introduction of modernity in the world. The selected components of the serial nomination include the fundamental elements that represent the traditional economy in its development from the 19th to the 20th centuries. These elements include the seaports of the Heart of Sharjah and Al Khan, one dealing with the maritime trade and the other with local pearling and fishing. The port of Khorfakkan, instead represents the connection with the Oman Gulf and the Indian Ocean. These ports, which guaranteed the contacts with the sea, pearling, fishing, and maritime traffic, were linked through caravans to the mountain region, which provided the possibility for agriculture, particularly date palms, and cattle. Sharjah also offered temporary shelters for Bedouins and tribes engaged in transhumance. This relatively large territory was based on an integrated economic system, where all the parts sustained each other. The region was not without conflicts, even up to the 20th century. Consequently, the Qawasim cultural territory was protected by a system of defence, which included watch towers and forts, as well as fortified city walls of Sharjah. On land, traditional economy depended on the existence of oases, such as Al Dhaid and other water sources, providing irrigation for palm groves and water for villages in the mountain areas, such as Wadi Al Helu.

Integrity

Sharjah, the Gateway to Trucial States consists of a serial property, where each component represents an essential aspect contributing to the identification of its Outstanding Universal Value. The nomination is fundamentally of archaeological character, consisting of remains and historic structures that bear testimony to the developments during the 19th and first half of the 20th century.


Authenticity

The nominated property is fundamentally of historical-archaeological character. It consists of several archaeological areas, including the Heart of Sharjah, the remains of the Al Khan pearling-fishing village, the ancient fort of Khorfakkan, the remains of 19th-century villages in Wadi Al Helo, the watch tower and fort site of Fili, as well as the fort located in the oasis of Al Dhaid. In these sites the material authenticity has been given special consideration in deciding about the delimitation of the nominated areas. Any reconstruction and new buildings have been strictly limited.

The main qualities of Sharjah, the Gateway to the Trucial States, are associated with events and ideas that led to the formation and development of the Trucial States (criterion vi). Sharjah has experienced an important interchange of influences resulting in major urban and technological development while maintaining its cultural continuity (criterion ii). Together, the essential elements of the serial nomination bear testimony to the developments in the 19th and 20th centuries, i.e. the Trucial State period. Consequently, the serial nomination of Sharjah, the Gateway to the Trucial States, consists of the following components:

Heart of Sharjah: is the central area of the historic town of Sharjah and the capital of the territory ruled by the Qawasim sheikhs from 1813 onwards. It forms the principal transition between the maritime activities and land-bound economy. There are many preserved historic buildings, including a large part of the historic souq area, as well as rulers’ residences. These include the fort of Al Hisn, originally built at the beginning of the 19th century, but demolished in 1969, and rebuilt in 1996 as a symbol of new attention to the historic inheritance of Sharjah.

Al Khan Village: is an exceptional testimony to a traditional fishing village, which survived until the 1970s. It is now an archaeological site due to the impact of modernization.

Al Mahatta Airport: was established in 1932 and linked the territory of Sharjah with one of the first intercontinental air routes, i.e. between Britain and India.

Al Mirgab Military Camp: was the headquarters of the Oman Trucial Scouts, established in 1951 by the British authorities in agreement with the Government of Sharjah to survey safety and security in the territory of Sharjah.

Al Dhaid Oasis: is the most important example of a naturally protected agricultural land, surrounded by mountains and including numerous wells and falaj systems. It was a military base and a crossroads of land routes, but it was also a town where people from other emirates could pass by or own farms.

Fili Watchtower: was part of the defence system along the caravan route from Al Dhaid to Al Ain and Buraimi Oasis, from west to east, protecting the links to the stone mountain tracks. The visual continuity from the tower to its surroundings was needed for monitoring the progress of caravans as well as identifying any potential raiders.

Wadi Al Helo: is a significant example of a naturally protected agricultural valley within mountains. It is reached through a riverbed or valley, along the caravan route, with watchtowers located at the entrance of the valley to protect from raiders. It was a safe territory, allowing people to work in agriculture and export their products to coastal areas.

Khorfakkan Fort: protected the harbour on the Oman Gulf side of the Qawasim territory. It is significant for the complex historical records that shed light on the evolution of fort architecture from the 14th until the 20th century. It provides a critical reference to explore the typologies of fortifications and how they evolved to what is commonly known as the United Arab Emirates’ historical forts and architecture.